Much is made of football in Seville and the origins of its two current, La Liga teams. Real Betis Balompie, aka "Betis", and Sevilla Futbol Club, "Sevilla". The foundation of the first, named for the Latin for the city's river, is relatively clear. It would be in 1914, as a merger of Sevilla Balompie, formed in 1907 mainly at the instigation of Spanish, local students, and Betis Football Club, a 1909 split from Sevilla over essentially class. Sevilla itself had been founded in 1905 by members of the city's Merchants' Club, Britons amongst them, and not as claimed in many current histories. They maintain its origins to have been in 1890 but that was for an earlier entity, Seville Football Club.   

It had emerged from the city's then British Club, with its strong Scottish input, and which seems to have lapsed within the decade. And it, not Sevilla FC, had been the team in 1891 to face the then equally British Huelva in what is now Spain's first official football match, held on the city's then horse-racing track. On the one side the President of Huelva was Paisley-born, Charles Adam. Another of its founders and future President was Caithness-born, William Alexander Mackay. On the other side the captain of Seville was foundary-worker, Glasgow-born Hugh McColl and the referee was Charles Farquharson Johnston of Elgin, British Vice-Consul in the city and born in Lhanbryde, Moray.  

© Copyright. All rights reserved/Todos los derechos reservados.


Any use of material created by the SFHG for this web-site will be subject to an agreed donation or donations to an SFHG appeal/Cualquier uso del material creado por SFHG para este sitio web estará sujeto a una donación acordada o donaciones a una apelación de SFHG.

We need your consent to load the translations

We use a third-party service to translate the website content that may collect data about your activity. Please review the details in the privacy policy and accept the service to view the translations.